Pedro Alvarez
Baker Institute Rice Faculty Scholar | George R. Brown Professor of Engineering | Chair of the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
View Profile








Current Members

  1. The Honorable Linnet Deily
    Chair, Baker Institute Board of Advisors
    Former U.S. Ambassador to the World Trade Organization
    Former Deputy U.S. Trade Representative
  2. L.E. Simmons
    Co-Chair, Baker Institute Board of Advisors
    Founder and President, SCF Partners
  3. Greg L. Armstrong
    Co-founder and Retired Chairman and CEO, Plains All American Pipeline LP
  4. Norman Augustine
    Former Chairman and CEO, Lockheed Martin
  5. James A. Baker IV
    Retired Partner, Baker Botts LLP
  6. Carin Barth
    Co-founder and President, LB Capital, Inc.
  7. Laura D. Bellows
    CEO and Chairman, W. S. Bellows Construction Corporation
  8. Donald Bowers
    Vice President, Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas
  9. Jay A. Brown
  10. Benjamin Cheng
    Principal, Transnational Management Limited
  11. Haydeh Davoudi
    Owner and Operator, EPIC Sporthorses
  12. Thomas J. Falk
    Retired Chairman and CEO, Kimberly-Clark
  13. Ann Fox
    President and CEO, Nine Energy Service
  14. Jeffery D. Hildebrand
    Executive Chairman and Founder, Hilcorp Energy Company
  15. Jeffrey C. Hines
    Chairman and Co-Chief Executive Officer, Hines
  16. Paul Hobby
    Co-founder, Genesis Park
  17. Robert Steven Kaplan
    Former President and CEO, Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas
  18. Robert T. Ladd
    Managing Partner, Stellus Capital Management
    Chairman and CEO, Stellus Capital Investment Corporation
    Chair, Rice University Board of Trustees
  19. José-Alberto Lima
    Founding Member, Quartz Energy Partners
  20. Fred Lummis
    Chairman, Platform Partners LLC
  21. Arshad Matin
    Chief Executive Officer, Avetta
  22. Franci Neely
    Philanthropist and Former Trial Attorney
  23. Gary R. Petersen
    Co-founder, EnCap Investments LP
  24. Wade Rakes
    President and Chief Executive Officer, Peach State Health Plan
  25. The Honorable John F.W. Rogers
    Executive Vice President, Chief of Staff and Secretary to the Board of Directors, Goldman Sachs & Company
    Former U.S. Under Secretary of State for Management
    Former U.S. Assistant Secretary of the Treasury
  26. A.R. “Tony” Sanchez Jr.
    Chairman and CEO, Sanchez Oil & Gas Corporation
  27. Jaime Serra
    Chairman, SAI Law and Economics
    Chairman, BBVA Bancomer
  28. C. Park Shaper
    CEO, Seis Holdings, LLC
  29. Ruth Simmons
    President’s Distinguished Fellow, Rice University
  30. Gerald B. Smith
    Chairman and CEO, Smith Graham & Co.
  31. Ann Stern
    President and CEO, Houston Endowment
  32. Guillermo “Memo” Treviño
    President, Southern Distributing Company, Inc.
  33. Robert B. Tudor III
    Founder and CEO, Artemis Energy Partners
    Retired Chair, Rice University Board of Trustees
  34. Uwem Ukpong
    Vice President Global Services, Amazon Web Services
  35. John Eddie Williams, Jr.
    Founder and Managing Partner, Williams Hart
  36. Dr. Huda Zoghbi
    Professor of Pediatrics, Neurology, Neuroscience, Molecular and Human Genetics, Baylor College of Medicine
    Founding Director, Jan and Dan Duncan Neurological Research Institute, Texas Children’s Hospital

Life Members

  1. His Excellency Sheikh Abdulla bin Ali Al-Thani, Ph.D.
    Advisor, Amiri Diwan, Qatar
  2. The Honorable Hushang Ansary
    Chairman, Parman Capital Group
  3. E. William Barnett
    Retired Chair, Rice University Board of Trustees
    Retired Managing Partner, Baker Botts L.L.P.
  4. Clarence P. Cazalot Jr.
    Retired Chairman, President and CEO, Marathon Oil Corporation
  5. James W. Crownover
    Former Director, McKinsey & Company
    Retired Chair, Rice University Board of Trustees
  6. The Honorable Edward P. Djerejian
    Founding Director, Rice University's Baker Institute for Public Policy
    Former U.S. Ambassador to Syria and to Israel
  7. Claudio X. González
    Chairman of the Board, Kimberly-Clark de México
  8. Steven L. Miller
    Chairman and President, SLM Discovery Ventures, Inc.
    Former Chairman, President and CEO, Shell Oil Company
  9. Beth Robertson
    President, Cockspur, Inc.
    President, Westview Development, Inc.
  10. Marc J. Shapiro
    Non-Executive Chairman, JP Morgan Chase & Co. — Texas Operations
  11. Wallace S. Wilson
    Retired Chairman, Wilson Industries

Ex Officio Members

The Honorable James A. Baker, III
61st U.S. Secretary of State
Honorary Chair, Rice University's Baker Institute for Public Policy

Reginald DesRoches
President, Rice University

The Honorable David M. Satterfield
Director, Rice University's Baker Institute for Public Policy
Former U.S. Ambassador to Lebanon and Turkey