Mexico 2018 Presidential Candidates

MENU | Election 2018 | Overview | Timeline | Political Parties | Presidential Candidates | State & Local | Podcast

On Sunday, July 1, MORENA candidate, Andrés Manuel López Obrador, was elected as president of Mexico. He will take office on Dec. 1, 2018.

The candidates included in this section are those that had publicly declared their intention to run and were backed by their party coalitions. The PAN, PRD and Movimiento Ciudadano registered the coalition party "Por Mexico Al Frente" with the INE on Dec. 8, 2017. The Morena, PES and PT registered the coalition party "Juntos Haremos Historia" with the INE on Dec. 14, 2017. The PRI, PVEM and PANAL registered the coalition party "Todos por Mexico" with INE on Jan. 5, 2018.

Click on the links below for the video of each presidential debate:

Click the icons below to explore each party's current roster of candidates. These lists will be continuously updated.




 Independent Candidates


The president is elected using the plurality voting election system in which the candidate with the most votes is elected. Mexico does not have run-off elections. 

The presidential election is divided into four stages:

  1. Election preparation: The first stage of Mexico’s electoral process begins the first week of October the year prior to the election. During this time, political campaigning occurs. In addition, the National Electoral Institute (INE), an independent organization founded in 1990 to monitor elections in Mexico, trains randomly selected registered voters on how to run the voting stations.
  2. Election: The second stage of the presidential electoral process is voting, which begins at 8 a.m. on the first Sunday in July of the election year (in 2018, Election Day is July 1). All voters cast a secret paper ballot at their assigned voting station. Eligible voters must have registered before the election and obtained a voter ID — which in Mexico functions as a national identification card, resulting in an overwhelming majority of Mexican citizens being registered to vote.
  3. Publication of the results: The third stage of the electoral process begins at 8 p.m. on election night, when the INE releases preliminary electoral results. For updates on electoral results, visit INE's web page.
  4. Election validity and declaration of the elected president: After the vote, the Electoral Tribunal declares the validity of the election and reports the results.


Page content last updated on Jun. 13, 2018