skip to main content

COVID-19 Information and Guidance


The National Academy of Sciences has awarded the prestigious Public Welfare Medal for 2009 to Neal Lane, the Baker Institute's senior fellow in science and technology policy and the Malcolm Gillis University Professor at Rice University. Established in 1914, the medal is presented annually to honor the extraordinary use of science for public good. Lane was chosen for his many years of service to the scientific community in a number of leadership roles, as well as for his continuing efforts to advance and promote science and technology in the United States. Previous medal recipients include William T. Golden and Carl Sagan.

Read the Rice News article about Neal Lane's award.

Read The National Academies' press release about the award.

Learn more about the Science and Technology Policy Program.