skip to main content

COVID-19 Information and Guidance


Texas is now the the only state to have three presidential libraries. The  George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum at Southern Methodist University opened its doors to the public on May 1. The other two centers are the George Bush Presidential Library and Museum at Texas A&M University in College Station and the LBJ Presidential Library at the University of Texas in Austin.

But what is a presidential library and what purpose does it serve?

On May 14, the directors of the three presidential libraries in Texas met at the Baker Institute to discuss the role of their institutions and the presidents they represent. The discussion was moderated by Baker Institute founding director Ambassador Edward P. Djerejian.

The forum was the first of a three-part, multi-city series "Lone Star Treasures: The Presidential Libraries of Texas," sponsored by the Texas Tribune, in which the directors will discuss how presidential libraries preserve history, facilitate research and education, and contribute to their communities through public programs and special events.

Watch a video of the Baker Institute event above.