skip to main content

COVID-19 Information and Guidance

Juntos Haremos Historia Presidential Candidate

MENU | Election 2018 | Overview | Timeline | Political Parties | Presidential Candidates | State & Local | Podcast






Andrés Manuel López Obrador

Dubbed AMLO by the press, Andrés Manuel López Obrador is the founder and current leader of the Movimiento de Regeneración Nacional (MORENA) party. He received a bachelor's in political science and public administration from the National Autonomous University of Mexico (UNAM). López Obrador was named director of the Indigenous Institute in Tabasco in 1977. He ran for governor of the state of Tabasco in 1988 and 1994 but lost both races, maintaining that the elections were fraudulent. López Obrador’s political profile continued to rise in 1996 after he was featured on national television during a protest advocating for the rights of the indigenous people who were harmed by pollutants expelled from Pemex oil wells.

López Obrador headed the Partido de la Revolución Democrática (PRD) party chapter in the state of Tabasco upon its formation in 1986. He later went on to serve as the party’s president from 1996 to 1999 before serving as the head of government of Mexico City from 2000 to 2005. López Obrador has been famously vocal about his interest in the presidency since his candidacy in the 2006 and 2012 presidential elections; he lost the 2006 election by a margin of only 0.58 percent. López Obrador is considered to be the frontrunner in the field of presidential hopefuls.

In December 2017, Lopez Obrador announced his choices for members of his cabinet, if he were to be elected president:

  • Finance — Carlos Manuel Urzua, former finance minister for Mexico City from 2000-2003
  • Interior — Olga Sanchez Cordero, former associate justice on Mexico’s Supreme Court
  • Education — Esteban Moctezuma, an economist and former secretary of social development and of the interior
  • Energy — Rocio Nahle, a petrochemical engineer.
  • Public Functions — Irma Sandoval Ballesteros, a political scientist and researcher at Institute of Social Research at the National Autonomous University of Mexico
  • Foreign Relations — Héctor Vasconcelos, a Mexican diplomat and former director of fiscal dissemination for the Ministry of Finance and Public Credit
  • Social Development — María Luisa Albores, an agronomist specialized in tropical areas 
  • Economic — Graciela Márquez Colín, a professor and researcher in economics at the College of Mexico
  • Agriculture, Livestock, Rural Development, Fisheries and Food — Víctor Villalobos, director general of the Inter-American Institute for Cooperation on Agriculture (IICA)
  • Labor and Social Security — Luisa María Alcalde, former federal deputy representing Mexico City from 2013 to 2015
  • Culture — Alejandra Frausto Guerrero, former executive director of the Mexican Culture Seminar 
  • Communication and Transportation — Javier Jiménez Espriú, director of petrochemical company Grupo IDESA, S.A. de C.V. 
  • Environment and Natural Resources — Josefa González Blanco Ortiz Mena, former professor of comparative legal systems at UNAM.
  • Tourism — Miguel Torruco Marqués, former secretary of tourism for the Federal District
  • Health — Jorge Alcocer Varela, a doctor who specializes in internal medicine and rheumatology
  • Agrarian, Territorial, and Urban Development — Román Guillermo Meyer Falcón, an architect



Page content last updated on Ju. 2, 2018