Gubernatorial, Congressional and Local Elections

MENU | Election 2018 | Overview | Timeline | Political Parties | Presidential Candidates | State & Local | Podcast 

Governors and the Mayor of Mexico City

All governors and the mayor of Mexico City (Jefe de Gobierno) are elected using a plurality electoral system and serve a six-year term. These positions do not have run-off elections in Mexico.

As the parties prepare their electoral platforms for the July 1 elections, we will report on candidates as they publicly announce their intention to run or formally register before INE. Research on local, state and congressional elections is provided by Mexico Center interns Nina Kalluri, Madison Grimes, Mackenzie Kubik and Justin Chang.

Click the hyperlinks below to view the list of candidates for each position.

State governorships up for election

Mayor/Head of Government


Mexico’s Congress: Senate and Chamber of Deputies

The Senate is composed of 128 members who serve six-year terms. Two senators are elected by plurality in each of the 31 states and in the Federal District. One additional senator per state is awarded to the top performing minority party. The remaining 32 seats are allocated based on closed-list proportional representation, whereby voters cast their votes for a set list of party-supplied candidates.

The Chamber of Deputies is composed of 500 members who serve three-year terms. Deputies are elected in a similar fashion to senators; 300 deputies are elected by relative majority in single-member districts, 200 are elected using a closed-list proportional representation system featuring party lists for five 40-seat constituencies.

Political parties in Mexico can voluntarily institute party gender quotas. However, there are legislated gender quotas for the Chamber of Deputies and Senate. Electoral law requires political parties to guarantee that at least 40 percent of the candidates on the lists are of the same gender. As a result, 212 of the 500 seats in the Chamber of Deputies have been held by women since the 2015 election year. Similarly, 42 of the total 128 Senate seats are held by women.     


Seats Up for Election by State




Source: INE 


Page content last updated on Feb. 1, 2018