Moscow Summer Intern Program



Students from Rice and other universities across the United States participate in the Moscow Summer Intern Program as part of a student initiative of the Baker Institute Space Policy Program.

Applications are now being accepted and are due by April 15, 2016.

Mission Statement

The purpose of the Moscow Summer Intern Program is to develop international collaborations in which engineering and science students from different countries work together to design space science projects.

The intent is to emulate the successes of the international cooperation and innovation that formed the basis of the International Space Station and replicate the process at the university level for the next generation of space engineers and scientists.


The Youth Space Center of Bauman Moscow State Technical University conducts an annual international workshop titled “Space Development: Theory and Practice.” The workshop was first conducted in 1998, and the Baker Institute first participated in the program in 2011.


Space Development: Theory and Practice (Space DTP) is a unique international student workshop that combines visits to Russian space facilities with tours of cultural and historical sites in and around the Moscow Oblast region. In addition, students participate in rocket modeling classes and break into teams to develop simulated interplanetary space missions. Students experience not only the difficulties encountered in working with international partners, but also the synergy and satisfaction derived from learning how to cooperate in space-related ventures.

The space-related facilities that students will visit include: the Gagarin Cosmonaut Training Center at Star City, the Bauman Moscow State Technical University Orevo Laboratory, Russian Mission Control Center in Korolev, the Cosmonautics Memorial Museum and the Monino Air Force Museum. Cultural excursions include: the Pushkin Fine Arts Museum, the Tretyakov Art Gallery, the World War II Memorial on Poklonaya Gora, Gorky Park, the Izmailovo flea market and Red Square.

The internship includes:

  • Round-trip airline tickets from Houston to Moscow
  • Visa application and fees
  • Local accommodations (transportation, lodging and most meals), provided by Bauman Moscow State Technical University

Additional Important Information

  • Applicants must have a current passport.
  • Proficiency in the Russian language is not a prerequisite for applying, but will be considered a plus.
  • Students are expected to arrive in Houston on Thursday, June 30, 2016, in order to depart for Moscow from Houston as a group on Friday, July 1. Hotel rooms and meals in Houston will be provided by the Baker Institute. Transportation to Houston and to the hotel is not provided.

The home base for Space DTP is the student hostel located near Bauman Moscow State Technical University and the center of Moscow. Space DTP participants stay in double economy-class rooms with showers and televisions. Transportation for Space DTP will be provided.

Participating Universities

Applicants must currently be enrolled in one of the following universities:

  • Rice University
  • Brown University
  • Cornell University
  • University of Houston
  • University of Southern California
  • The University of Texas at El Paso

The video below captures some of the 2012 Moscow Summer Intern Program's most compelling moments.

Watch highlights from the 2011 Moscow Summer Intern Program.

Program Alumni


Rosa Avalos (Rice University)
Abby Brooks (Rice University)
Jeremy Dowell (Rice University)
Mark Durham (University of Houston)
Chris Gay (University of Houston)
Kairy Moon Herrera (Brown University)
Jacob Hogge (University of Southern California)
Amanda Humphrey (Rice University)
Ryan Izant (Brown University)
Eduardo Segura (University of Houston)
Maria Yurlova (University of Houston)


Sofia Avendaño (Rice University)
Kelly Callens (Cornell University)
Collin Hennegan (University of Southern California)
Blake Ives (University of Southern California)
Kath Kryuchkova (Brown University)
Danielle Mitrak (University of Southern California)
Tomoya Anthony Mori (Brown University)
Katie Van Leeuwen (Rice University)
Cristal Tan (Rice University)
Duncan Young (Rice University)


Scott Buchanan (University of Southern California)
Sarah Cusson (University of Southern California)
Jennifer Ding (Rice University)
Sruthi Mathews (University of Houston)
Casey Meehan (Brown University)
Julia Phelps (University of Southern California)
Kelly Sanders (Rice University)
Nick Robbins (Rice University)
Sophia Tsang (Brown University)
Brian Weiniger (University of Southern California)


Ian Brownstein (Brown University)
Hayden Buckley (University of Southern California)
Brady Caspar (Brown University)
Nathaniel Gilbert (Brown University)
Joseph Huseman (Rice University)
Julia Levy (University of Southern California)
Meaghan Ryan (Rice University)
Carolina White (Rice University)
Dante Zakhidov (Rice University)


Alan Alvillar (The University of Texas at El Paso)
Alexander Grosvenor (Brown University)
Hunter Haywood (University of Southern California)
Nicholas Helmer (University of Southern California)
Tremayne Kaseman (Rice University)
David Ladewig (University of Houston)
Luis Sanshez (The University of Texas at El Paso)
Joshua Soucie (Rice University)
Jaime Barron Ruiz (The University of Texas at El Paso)